The third edition of the EPFA Champions CUP

The EPFA Champions Cup is the elite Club competition for European powerchair football teams. The 2016 competition saw 10 teams from 4 nations (Denmark, England, France and Ireland) travel to Hou, Denmark from 17th – 20th October. The event was hosted by Aarhus Rolling Devils and held at Egmont Hojskolen, a traditional Danish school. The matches took place in 3 gymnasiums across the town.

The teams were drawn in two pools and after 20 matches and 2 days of hard competition, the top two teams in each group progressed to the semi-finals. Following strong performances from the French teams, Auch, Vaucresson and Grafteaux all qualified along with West Bromwich Albion from England.

The first semi-final was an all French affair as Auch battled to a 1-0 victory over Grafteaux in a very tight match. The second semi-final was a dramatic affair as neither team could be seperated in normal time as it finished 1-1. The game went to penalties and eventually West Bromwich Albion secured their place in the final with a 6-5 victory against Vaucresson in the shootout.

The final of the 2016 EPFA Champions Cup saw Auch take on West Bromwich Albion. It was played in a venue in the centre of town and attracted a crowd in excess of 300. The game started slowly as both teams showed signs of nerves and kept things tight. Following a defensive mistake, Auch took the lead and as West Bromwich started to chase an equliser the game opened up. Auch scored twice more to claim a 3-0 victory and be crowned Champions Cup winners.


  1. Auch
  2. West Bromwich Albion
  3. Grafteaux
  4. Vaucresson
  5. Aspire PFC
  6. Brighton & Hove Albion
  7. DCU Storm
  8. Aarhus Rolling Devils
  9. Midlands United
  10. Ballerup Skovlunde

This was the third time a French team has claimed the title, but as the sport continues to grow across Europe the standard of play is improving and we are looking forward to some great future competitions.

The next international competition is the 2017 FIPFA World Cup. This is the 3rd edition and will see ten countries (England, Argentina, Australia, Canada, Denmark, United States, France, Ireland, Japan, Uruguay) compete to be crowned Champions of the World. The event will take place from 5th-9th July 2017 in Kissimmee, Florida. All the matches will be broadcast live on the web.